Princess of Mirkwood

newest quizzes about rings profile notes guestbook host design

Quotable
2003-04-30
12:31 a.m.

Sometimes, it takes a slap in the face to wake you up.

I was worried when Ryan told me Moghedien has what seems to be a tumor. She and her sister Cyndane are almost two years old. They're practically ancient in rat years, but I don't want to say goodbye so soon.

So today, my day off from work, I got up around noon and sleepily poked my way through a listing of vet offices in the yellow pages. It started raining. When I reached to dial, my parents pulled into the driveway.

"They didn't have to get off work early just to drive me to the vet," I thought dazedly. Ignorance makes you assume some pretty silly things.

They came inside and took off their coats as they do every other day. Mum smiled at me after she had hung hers up to dry. "Your grandmother passed away this morning," she said, trying to hold her smile. "They say she had a stroke and just fell asleep."

"What?" came the default reply to everything I don't understand the first time I hear it.

"It's better it happened this way," she went on.

I couldn't process it. I put the phone book away. Mog wasn't going to get looked at today, maybe for a while.

"We're thinking...that we would all get packed and leave home around five or six," she said. "We can make it there in two days."

"To New Mexico?" I thought. Chills went up my spine.

My immediate concern was if I'd be able to handle travelling at all. Ever since I first started having attacks, I couldn't think about travelling without being overcome with fear. There's no real reason to it that I can see. Just something I have to deal with.

Mum smiled again and sat next to me. "You'll be fine," she said reassuringly. "You know...this will sound strange, but I'm not scared. I'm glad your father and I cancelled our trip next week. Something didn't feel right about it. Can you imagine what it'd be like if this had happened while we were getting ready to leave?"

I nodded.

"It's like this was God's timing."

Funny she should say that.

I had been switching channels in the living room while dad read the newspaper, just the night before. And I stopped on a channel showing 'The Hiding Place'. The only line I remember from the whole thing is, "No matter how deep a hole you think you're in, God is deeper still."

It was haunting me.

"I can't see you staying here while we go, unless you'd like to stay with your aunt and uncle?" mum asked.

I shook my head, staring blankly at the wall beyond her ear. "What's the weather supposed to be like?" I asked, changing subjects. "I don't know what to bring."

***

I know I've been a bad girl and haven't been around lately, but I'm about to be gone for another week or two, depending on the travelling conditions and what sort of state we find things in when we get there. Please pray for my family.

yal�m� | apacen

last five entries:
shh...the monkies are listening, and their teeth are sharp.
short note before I go
idiots
Donuts, Mister Vash?
Quotable

Pants me, but don't tell the elf.

Embrace your geekiness.

The WeatherPixie